Liverpool has stated that VAR made an error regarding the controversial penalty decision against Real Madrid.
During the first half of their Champions League match with Real Madrid, Liverpool was awarded a penalty, but VAR later overturned this decision.
Mark Clattenburg, a former Champions League referee, asserted that Liverpool’s penalty appeal against Real Madrid was wrongly dismissed. The first half was filled with action, yet both the Premier League champions and the Spanish giants found it difficult to score.
Arne Slot’s team believed they had a golden opportunity to take the lead when Dominik Szoboszlai’s long-range shot seemed to be blocked by the arm of Madrid midfielder Aurelien Tchouameni. Initially, referee Istvan Kovacs awarded a free-kick just outside the box, but he was then instructed to review the situation on the VAR monitor.
As the official approached the monitor, anticipation grew within Anfield that he would reverse his decision and award a penalty, given that Tchouameni appeared to be positioned on the 18-yard line.
He did change his decision, but concluded that no handball had occurred, which angered the home supporters and Clattenburg, who believed a penalty should have been given and that VAR should have advised Kovacs to award it.
Clattenburg remarked: “It’s beneficial to have a second chance to review the incident. I believe the referee, from his perspective, thinks it’s outside, but from this side angle, which the assistant referee has, it appears that the arm is within the penalty area when the ball makes contact.
“In such cases, the VAR will suggest a review. I think the referee might reconsider his decision here.”
Following the confirmation of the decision, Clattenburg added: “What the VAR has concluded, in his view, is that since the referee has ruled a handball – and I personally believe it was a handball.”
I concur with the referee’s initial ruling regarding the handball. Once it is deemed a handball, it occurs within the penalty area. However, the referee is now asserting that it is not a handball, as he does not think the defender enlarged his body.
Alan Shearer, while serving as a pundit on Amazon Prime alongside Clattenburg, remarked: “They have truly entangled themselves with this handball regulation, distinguishing between natural and unnatural positions, as well as proximity. It would have been much simpler to determine whether it was a deliberate handball or not.”
An official statement from UEFA stated: “VAR decision: no penalty. The ball made contact with the left arm of Real Madrid’s player No14, which was positioned close to the body in a natural manner.”
Slot was left furious by the ruling, as the referee’s initial decision of a free-kick was overturned, resulting in Madrid gaining possession of the ball from the incident.